House Financial Services Committee Membership, Subcommittees Finalized

Posted on January 28th, 2013 in Banking, Consumer Finance, Federal Issues By BuckleySandler

On January 22, House Financial Services Committee Chairman Jeb Hensarling (R-TX) announced the subcommittee assignments for the committee’s Republican members. Rep. Garrett (R-NJ) will again lead the subcommittee on Capital Markets and Government Sponsored Enterprises, while Rep. Capito (R-WV) remains as head of the subcommittee on Financial Institutions and Consumer Credit. Ranking Member Maxine Waters (D-CA) also recently announced as Ranking Members of those subcommittees Rep. Maloney (D-NY) and Rep. Meeks (D-NY), respectively, and released the full roster for each subcommittee. The subcommittee rosters reflect the new members joining the committee, including Reps. Barr (R-KY), Cotton (R-AR), Hultgren (R-IL), Mulvaney (R-SC), Pittenger (R-NC), Ross (Fla.), Stutzman (R-IN), and Wagner (R-MO) for the majority; and on the minority side Reps. Beatty (D-OH), Delaney (D-MD), Heck (D-WA), Foster (D-IL), Kildee (D-MI), Murphy (D-FL), Sewell (D-AL), and Sinema (D-AZ). Finally, earlier this month Chairman Hensarling announced majority staff positions, and followed with additional staff announcements on January 25, 2013.